Past/Present Nu Lambda Omega Chapter Presidents

  • First President:  Fannie Gilliam

    Presidential Term: 1980-1983


    *  Chartering member of Nu Lambda Omega and the first President of the chapter
    *  Service Projects: WSB-TV Health Fair Hotline, Children’s Arts Festival in Alpha Kappa Alpha, SCLC Women-Christmas party 
    for senior citizens and Fulton County Emergency Food Bank
    *  Nu Lambda Omega raised more than $14,000 during 1982 through permanent chapter activities such as the “St. Valentine’s 
    Dance” and “Fashionetta”.  “Fashionetta” brought in over $11,000 its first year.
    Second President:  Iris Palmer

    Presidential Term: 1983-1987

    *  Nu Lambda Omega was recognized regionally for being the “Most Outstanding” in the South Atlantic Region
    *  Received the “Chapter Achievement” Award
    *  Program launched: System 7 (seven)-Missing and Murdered Children’s Project, Redecoration of the Father’s 
    Waiting Room at Southwest Hospital and feeling the homeless at the Phyllis Wheatley YMCA Shelter
    *  Became an “Ivy Beyond the Wall” on November 16, 1994
    *  Nu Lambda Omega established a scholarship for students attending Clark Atlanta University 
    (Iris Palmer Alma Mater).


    Third President:  Gloria Strong

    Presidential Term: 1987-1991

    *  Raising and contributing $1,000 to an Atlanta HBCU, $1,000 to each of two metro homeless shelters
    *  Nu Lambda Omega commissioned its first “art” piece “A Vision in Time” by Joy Smith. This piece represented 
    the chapter’s first 10 (ten) years.
    Fourth President:  Carol Johnson Davis
    Presidential Term: 1991-1995
    *  Nu Lambda Omega achieved greater financial stability and cohesiveness that allowed the chapter to grow
    *  The chapter designed an administrative protocol through the creation of the internal audit committee
    *  1992 Regional conference, the chapter was awarded second place for the “Chapter Achievement Award”, 
    first place each for the “Health” and the “Arts Award” and Carol J. Davis achieved second place for “President”
    of the year.

    Fifth President:  Mary Lynn Watkins

    Presidential Term: 1995-1999

    *  21 Century, chapter grew in membership, taking membership to a record 240 strong
    *  The chapter established Nu Lambda Omega Foundation, Inc. and received 501 (c) (3) status
    *  Became one of two chapters in the South Atlantic region to achieve four “Rocket” status with the Educational 
    Advancement Foundation (EAF), the highest level a chapter can achieve and was recognized at the 43rd Regional conference
    in Jacksonville, FL and the 57th Boule in Baltimore, MD
    *  A successful “Pink Pearl Mother-Daughter” luncheon graced over 1200 guests.  Scholarship contributions increased 
    to $12,000.


    Sixth President:  Regina W. Crothers

    Presidential Term: 1999-2003

    *  January 1999; the chapter adopted the “Black Family Committee”, ON-TRACK, Technology and Economic 
        Empowerment committee
    *  Established partnership with the Development of Family and Children Services of Fulton County to host monthly childcare 
    *  Chapter received 12 Regional Awards, earned doctoral status with its Educational Advancement Foundation (the highest 
        level available) and saw it undergraduate chapter Mu Pi, gain national attention through the Leadership Fellows Program.
    *  Regina Crothers appointed to the International Internal Leadership Training for External Services Committee
    *  Regina Crothers appointed Cluster V Coordinator by the 15th South Atlantic Regional Director, Irene McCollum.


    Seventh President:  Markita J. Grant

    Presidential Term: 2003-2007

    *  Atlanta native and AKA Legacy is the first to be initiated into the Alpha Kappa Alpha by Nu Lambda Omega Chapter 
    and then later elected president
    *  The youngest person ever to lead this chapter of 240+ members
    *  January 2003, the chapter held its first “Ivy Reading AKAdemy” celebration for the sorority’s new signature program 
    “Reading One-to-One” aimed at kindergarten through third grade students
    *  2005 AKA Connection committee received a Georgia Congressional honor and acknowledgement for its efforts in 
    registering voters
    *  Markita Grant appointed chairman of the International Technology committee.


    Eighth President:  Jean D. Hickman

    Presidential Term: 2007-2011

    *  At the 57th South Atlantic Regional conference in Atlanta GA, won the “Homie Regulus President” award
    *  January 2007, nearly 100 reclaimed and transferring members joined the chapter
    *  In 2007, the “Fashionetta” had a record number of participants in the history of the pageant
    *  In 2009, another milestone year pageant (“Fashionetta”) raised record breaking amounts, well over initial 


    Ninth President:  Cynthia R. Parks

    Presidential Term: 2011-2015

    *  “Adopted-A-Highway” at I-285 and Camp Creek parkway (keeping the environment clean and safe)
    *  In 2011, Nu Lambda Omega chapter received a “Proclamation” and the “Phoenix” award from the City of Atlanta
    *  In June 2011 Wolf Creek Amphitheatre is South Fulton County opened with an Inaugural Concert and Reception Nu Lambda 
    Omega was the only chapter of AKA, in the Metro Atlanta Area and the only Greek letter organization with a banner flying high in
    honor of the celebration
    *  65th Boule conference in San Francisco, California, Nu Lambda Omega made history by winning first place for the “Best Emerging 
    Young Leaders Program (E.Y.L.)
    *  66th Boule conference during the “Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF) luncheon received the “Green Diamond” award for fully 
    endowing the “Nu Lambda Omega Scholarship Fund”
    *  2012, Cynthia Parks, was the Woman’s Day Speaker at the Southwest Congregational Church
    *  2012, Cynthia Parks, was the Commencement Speaker for the 5th Graders at M. Agnes Jones Elementary school.


    Tenth President:  Dawn B. Griffin

    Presidential Term: 2015-2019


    *  Being the first Mu Pi chapter initiate to be elected as President of Nu Lambda Omega chapter, the advising chapter

        for Spelman College

    *  2015, South Atlantic Regional Conference, Nu Lambda Omega chapter, was first place winners in “Ivies on a Mission: Launching

        into New Dimension” and Step & Stroll competition and “Educational Advancement Foundation” (EAF) Platinum Contribution Award

    *  During the 2015 South Atlantic Regional Conference, individual award for third place was given to Dawn B. Griffin for the “The                 Carolyn House Stewart Outstanding Silver Leadership and Community Service Award”

    *  Nu Lambda Omega chapter raised $4,560 for the 2015 “Relay for Life” South Fulton event on May 16,2015

    *  April 2015, The Pearls of Purpose Foundation, Inc., presented $30,000.00 in college scholarships to deserving high

        school seniors from the Metropolitan Atlanta community

    *  September 2015, Nu Lambda Omega Chapter and Pi Alpha Omega Chapter registered over 80 new voters.  This marks the highest               registration numbers in partnership with the League of Women Voters-Atlanta Chapter

    *  2016 Boule conference, Dawn B. Griffin served on the “Steering Committee: Correspondence/VIP Guide”

    *  2018, appointed by the International President, Glenda Glover, Dawn B. Griffin, Nu Lambda Omega President, to serve on the                     International HBCU Task Force.